母乳喂养的重要性

哺乳宝宝是生物学常态

母乳喂养的女性艺术 解释说:“在孩子的一生中,几乎没有什么可以像母乳喂养那样对他的情感和身体产生如此深远的影响。”母乳提供婴儿成长(无论是体形还是成熟度)所需的特定营养。您的牛奶是为您的宝宝定制的。研究表明母乳喂养对婴儿、母亲、家庭和环境具有重要价值。

Close-up photo of baby breastfeeding with their hand on their mother's breast.

对宝宝的重要性

母乳喂养的女性艺术 记录了母乳喂养的好处,例如母乳中的抗体可以保护婴儿免受疾病侵害。母乳喂养的婴儿过敏和龋齿的可能性较低。他们还受益于适当的下巴、牙齿和言语发育以及整体面部发育。这意味着人工喂养的人可能会更多地去看医生和牙医。1

母乳喂养已被证明可以预防许多疾病和状况,包括:

  • 痛苦的耳朵感染2
  • 上、下呼吸道疾病3
  • 感冒、病毒、葡萄球菌、链球菌和大肠杆菌感染4
  • 过敏5
  • 肠道疾病6
  • 2型糖尿病 7
  • 某些儿童癌症 8

母乳喂养保护新生儿免受疾病的一种方法是母乳中存在的免疫分子,称为抗体。抗体是由您身体的免疫系统产生的,是非常特殊的分子,可以帮助您对抗每种疾病。婴儿出生时,他们的免疫系统非常不成熟,抵抗致病细菌的能力较差。通过母乳,您可以让宝宝对您免疫的疾病以及您接触过的疾病产生免疫力。

哺乳还可以让您的宝宝将细菌传染给您,以便您的免疫系统能够做出反应并合成抗体来帮助他们!这意味着,如果您的宝宝接触过您没有接触过的东西,他就会在下次哺乳时将这些细菌传染给您;在喂养过程中,您的身体将开始制造针对该特定细菌的抗体。到下次喂养时,您的整个免疫系统将开始工作,为您和您的宝宝提供免疫力。如果您接触任何细菌或病毒,您的身体会产生针对它们的抗体,这些抗体会出现在您的乳汁中。母乳还含有许多其他免疫分子,也有助于保护宝宝免受细菌侵害。这是一个很棒的系统!

研究表明,您孩子的免疫系统在很多年内都不会完全成熟。当它正在发育时,他将受到母乳喂养的保护。他自己的免疫系统也比吃配方奶的婴儿发育得更快。

这是否意味着母乳喂养的婴儿永远不会生病?不,他们可以而且确实这么做了。然而,与不接受母乳的婴儿相比,这种疾病通常不那么严重,持续时间也更短。

对哺乳父母的重要性

母乳喂养的女性艺术 描述了母乳喂养对母亲身体的一些好处,例如降低乳腺癌、子宫癌、宫颈癌和卵巢癌的发病率。9 节省的时间也是巨大的。作为哺乳期父母,即使在压力时期(例如无法正常供应食物和水时),您也可以喂养宝宝。请参阅我们的多语言资源 紧急情况下的婴儿喂养.

对雇主的重要性

母乳喂养的婴儿更健康;因此,那些在外工作的人缺勤的天数可能会减少。10  

对环境的重要性

母乳的运输无需过度包装或加工,因此有助于地球的健康。请参阅我们的帖子 污染物绿色喂养:为健康星球而母乳喂养.

母乳喂养:母乳喂养对妈妈有什么好处?

参考
  1. 莱特-卡瓦尔坎蒂,A.等人。 2007.《公共健康》牧师 9 (2): 194-204。 Page,DC 2001。功能正统 18(3):24-27。
  2. 萨比罗夫,A.等人。 2009.儿科研究 66(5):565。
  3. 奥格鲍努,IU 等人。 2009.《胸部》64(1):62-66。
  4. Ivengar SR,Walker WA,2012。J Pediatr Gastroenterol Nutr。 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22684347
  5. Muche-Borowski,C. 等人。 2009.J Dtsch Dermatalog Ges 106(39):625-631。
  6. 杜吉茨,L.等人。 2009.母婴营养5(3):199-210。
  7. 佩蒂特,DJ 等人。 1997。柳叶刀 350:166-168。
  8. 本纳,A.等人。 2008.密涅瓦儿科 60(2):155-161。
  9. 乳腺癌激素因素合作小组,30 个国家的流行病学研究,2002 年。《柳叶刀》报道 360(9328):187-195。
    丹福斯,KN 等人。 2007。癌症原因控制 18(5):517-523。
  10. Murtagh-Moulton,2011 年。美国公共卫生杂志,101(2):217-223。

Importance of Breastfeeding

Breastfeeding is the biological norm.

The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding explains that “there is almost nothing you can do for your child in his whole life that will affect him both emotionally and physically as profoundly as breastfeeding.” Human milk provides the specific nutrients that babies need to grow, both in size and maturity. Your milk is made to order for your baby. Research points to the significant value to infants, mothers, families and the environment from breastfeeding.

IMPORTANCE FOR BABY

The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding documents the benefits of breastfeeding such as the antibodies in it to protect the baby from illness. Breastfed babies have a decreased likelihood for allergies and dental caries. They also benefit from appropriate jaw, teeth and speech development as well as overall facial development. This means that people who were artificially fed may experience more trips to doctors and dentists.1

Breastfeeding has been shown to be protective against many illnesses and conditions, including:

  • Painful ear infections2
  • Upper and lower respiratory ailments3
  • Colds, viruses, staph, strep and e coli infections4
  • Allergies5
  • Intestinal disorders6
  • Type 2 diabetes 7
  • Certain childhood cancers 8

One way breast feeding protects your newborn from illnesses is the immune molecules, called antibodies, that are present in human milk. Antibodies are made by your body’s immune system and are very specific molecules that help you fight each illness. When babies are born, their immune systems are very immature and they have less ability to fight illness-causing germs. Through your breast milk, you give your baby immunities to illnesses to which you are immune and also those to which you have been exposed.

Nursing also allows your baby to give germs to you so that your immune system can respond and can synthesize antibodies to help them! This means that if your baby has come in contact with something which you have not, he will pass these germs to you at the next nursing; during that feeding, your body will start to manufacture antibodies for that particular germ. By the time the next feeding arrives, your entire immune system will be working to provide immunities for you and your baby. If you are exposed to any bacteria or viruses, your body will be making antibodies against them and these will be in your milk. Human milk also contains a host of other immune molecules that also help protect your baby from germs. It’s an awesome system!

Research shows your child’s immune system will not be fully mature for many years. While it is developing, he will be protected by being breastfed. His own immune system also develops more rapidly than does baby who is fed formula.

Does this mean breastfed babies never get sick? No, they can and do. However, the illness is generally less severe and less lengthy than if the baby were not receiving his mother’s milk.

IMPORTANCE FOR MOTHER

The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding describes some of the physical benefits of breastfeeding for the mother such as reduced rates of breast cancer, uterine, cervical and ovarian cancer.9 The time saved for mother is also immense. As a breastfeeding mother, you can feed your baby even during stressful times such as when normal supplies of food and water are not available. See our multilingual resources on Infant Feeding In Emergencies.

IMPORTANCE FOR EMPLOYERS

Breastfed babies are healthier babies; thus, mothers who are employed outside the home are likely to miss fewer days of work.10  

IMPORTANCE  FOR THE ENVIRONMENT

Human milk is delivered without excess packaging or processing and thus contributes to the health of our planet. See our post on Contaminants.

References
  1. Leite-Cavalcanti, A.et al. 2007. Rev Salud Publica 9 (2): 194-204. Page, D.C. 2001. Funct Orthod 18(3):24-27.
  2. Sabirov, A. et al. 2009. Pediatr Res 66(5):565.
  3. Ogbaunu,I.U. et al. 2009. Thorax 64(1):62-66.
  4. Ivengar SR, Walker WA, 2012. J Pediatr Gastroenterol Nutr. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22684347
  5. Muche-Borowski, C. et al. 2009. J Dtsch Dermatalog Ges 106(39):625-631.
  6. Dujits,L. et al. 2009. Matern Child Nutr 5(3):199-210.
  7. Pettit, D.J. et al. 1997. Lancet 350:166-168.
  8. Benner, A. et al. 2008. Minerva Pediatr 60(2):155-161.
  9. Collaborative Group on Hormonal Factors in Breast Cancer, epidemiological study in 30 countries, 2002. Reported in Lancet 360(9328):187-195.
    Danforth, K.N. et al. 2007. Cancer Causes Control 18(5):517-523.
  10. Murtagh-Moulton, 2011. Am J Public Health, 101(2):217-223.