DIANA WEST,BA,IBCLC,由 Ann Calandro(MSN、RN、IBCLC)更新

最初发布于 2011 年 12 月,更新于 2015 年 11 月,更新于 2022 年 2 月,并经作者 Diana West 许可重新发布。

本文中的技术信息是在咨询了具有癌症和母乳喂养专业知识和临床经验的医生后编写的。请参阅文章末尾的参考文献列表,了解与您的医疗保健提供者共享和探索的资源。

当哺乳父母需要放射性药物时,当寻求有关继续母乳喂养的安全性的答案时,父母和主治放射科医生需要共同决策。患者可以要求选择最适合母乳喂养的药物。尽管母乳喂养期间进行的大多数常见成像和核医学手术不需要中断母乳喂养或断奶,但也有一些例外。

家长不妨将他们的治疗医生推荐给 2019 年母乳喂养学院 医学方案 #31 哺乳期妇女的放射学和核医学研究。 Thomas Hale 博士的《药物和母乳 2019》是对医生有用的另一本资源。有关药物的更多信息,请访问 拉克梅德, 也 乳聚糖,英语和西班牙语的免费资源。

母乳喂养医学会为怀孕期间或产后被诊断患有癌症的母亲发布了指南。这些指南为父母和提供者提供了有关母乳喂养和癌症的更详细信息(ABM 协议 #34 乳腺癌和母乳喂养).

母乳喂养期间面临癌症的可能性或现实时提出的一些最常见问题的答案:

哺乳期乳腺癌

从患有癌症的乳房进行母乳喂养 – 没有研究表明婴儿可能因哺乳受影响的乳房而“感染”癌症。 “没有证据表明母乳喂养会增加乳腺癌复发或第二次乳腺癌发生的风险,也没有证据表明母乳喂养会给孩子带来任何健康风险。” (Helewa 等人,2002)

没有科学证据表明婴儿拒绝接受癌变乳房的喂养,尽管一些母乳喂养患者曾有过这样的传闻。

微钙化 是乳腺组织中微小的钙沉积物,可能是良性(非癌性)或可疑的非典型细胞或癌症。这种情况在母乳喂养的女性中更常见,尤其是长时间母乳喂养的女性。不可能感觉到这些微钙化,因此可以通过筛查或诊断性乳房X光检查来识别它们。即使分布也是正常的,通常不是癌症的迹象。然而,重要的是让医疗专业人员检查所有乳房问题,并在建议时进行活检。

“大多数持续性乳腺肿块都需要进行影像学诊断。尽管一些乳房肿块可能在哺乳期出现并且是良性的,但影像学检查通常
需要将其与非哺乳期特异性乳房肿块区分开来。与哺乳无关的良性和恶性肿块也可能在产后出现。” (ABM 临床 方案 #30 哺乳期妇女的乳房肿块、乳房主诉和诊断性乳房成像.)

成像技术 用于诊断乳腺病理的可能包括超声波、乳房X光检查、磁共振成像(MRI)、正电子发射断层扫描(PET)扫描、2-甲氧基异丁基异腈(MIBI)扫描、电阻抗断层扫描(EIT)扫描、计算机轴向断层扫描(CAT) ) 扫描、热成像或透明度。这些技术是非侵入性的,通常不会影响牛奶的生产或安全。母乳喂养医学会提到,超声波通常是用于确定哺乳期乳房肿块性质的第一个诊断测试。由于哺乳期密度增加,解释乳房组织结果可能更加困难,但这并非不可能。建议在成像前进行喂食或抽吸,以提高扫描的质量和灵敏度。通常没有必要为了这些程序而中断或暂停母乳喂养,但 PET 扫描除外,PET 扫描需要将母乳喂养二人分开 12 小时,尽管母乳本身是安全的。与往常一样,对于处方医生和放射科医生来说,在成像之前咨询可靠的更新来源非常重要。

针吸 清除充满液体的空腔和乳囊膨出的内容物不会影响产奶或安全。建议继续喂养或吸乳以减少乳瘘的发生。

患者可能在怀孕和哺乳前接受过乳房活检,以取出组织进行诊断分析。活检可能会损伤泌乳管或神经,具体取决于技术、切除的组织量和切口的位置。获取乳腺组织样本的方法有三种:细针抽吸细胞学、核心活检和开放手术活检。最常见的是在超声或乳房X光检查引导下徒手进行核心活检。在切开切口以插入活检针之前,将局部麻醉剂注射到活检部位。在乳房局部麻醉的情况下喂奶或吸奶是安全的。

哺乳期间,乳房上内象限的切口通常对产奶组织的影响最小,而乳晕周围的圆形切口会损害影响乳汁排出的神经反应。指向乳头的切口可切断较少的乳管,造成的损伤也较小。活检造成的疤痕或感染也可能损害产奶组织。一些外科医生可能不愿意对哺乳期的乳房进行活检,因为更难看到受影响的组织,但这是可以做到的,而且乳汁不会延迟伤口愈合。

外科医生经常以对乳瘘的担忧为由,将活检或手术推迟到断奶后。通过持续的哺乳支持来喂养或泵送活检的乳房,发生乳瘘的可能性很低。 (约翰逊和米切尔,2019)

手术后可以正常继续母乳喂养。存在产生乳汁囊肿(乳汁膨出)的风险,但可以不进行治疗,或通过针引流(抽吸)进行治疗。如果发生感染,可以使用母乳喂养期间安全的抗生素进行治疗。

诊断过程中的辐射 使用 X 射线、乳房 X 光检查、MRI 和 CT(也称为 CAT)扫描在哺乳期间都是安全的。通常用于 CT/CAT、MRI、MIBI 扫描或 PET 扫描诊断测试的大多数不透射线和放射性对比剂在口服时具有极惰性且几乎不被吸收。有些是通过静脉注射给药,可能会进入乳汁。然而,婴儿的吸收并不是一个问题。母乳喂养医学会指出,超声是用于诊断相关区域乳腺成像的最初成像方式。使用它们时无需中断母乳喂养。然而,由于有许多不同的造影剂,因此在进行诊断程序之前检查当前可靠的来源并验证不需要中断总是很重要的。

放射性同位素: 根据 ABM 临床方案 #31,当医生建议母乳喂养的患者时,必须考虑到孩子可能通过两种途径暴露于辐射——摄入的乳汁和通过接近母亲的外部途径。哺乳期母亲应期望医生分享有关推荐放射性同位素安全性的循证信息。

放射治疗 会破坏泌乳组织,因此母亲不应期望接受放射治疗的乳房能够产奶。尽管在治疗期间受影响的乳房可能会产生一些乳汁,但应根据个人建议是否从该乳房进行母乳喂养。这是因为乳头和乳晕组织的敏感性可能降低,更容易受到创伤、出血,从而导致感染。在照射侧使用辅助哺乳系统也是如此,婴儿哺乳时的负压可能相当强。

未接受辐射的乳房的产奶不会受到影响,并且在治疗期间和治疗后从未受影响的乳房进行母乳喂养是安全的。

化疗期间母乳喂养通常是绝对禁忌的d 因为用于根除癌症的药物具有剧毒,并且会转移到牛奶中。然而,一些接受较低剂量化疗或半衰期相对较短的化疗药物(ABM 方案 #34,表 1)的母亲在寻求医疗专业人员的指导后,可能能够在两次剂量之间暂时断奶或吸乳并恢复母乳喂养。化疗完成后,可以通过再次妊娠或再次怀孕进行母乳喂养,具体取决于所使用的药物(Pistilli,2013)

计划接受化疗的哺乳期母亲应与肿瘤科医生讨论母乳喂养的持续时间和断奶的时间。有些人可能决定吸乳并计划在完成疗程后恢复母乳喂养。然而,他们可能会发现,在一段时间没有母乳喂养后,他们的宝宝可能会失去母乳喂养的兴趣。

母乳喂养不会增加乳腺癌复发的风险。 (Helewa 等人,2002)

身体其他部位的癌症及其对哺乳的影响

甲状腺成像和治疗– I-131 是一种治疗甲状腺癌和格雷夫斯病的甲状腺破坏治疗方法。它不是用于成像。需要在治疗开始前四个星期完全断奶,以减少乳房的辐射剂量。 I-123 用于甲状腺更新和诊断扫描。哺乳期间很少需要使用 I-123。然而,如果需要,可能需要停止母乳喂养几天。 (ABM 临床方案 #31。)

当出于诊断目的而因放射性同位素而需要暂时停止哺乳时,可以在治疗后吸奶,直到可以安全地恢复母乳喂养为止。挤出的乳汁可以存放在远离其他人的冰箱中,从而使辐射计数随着时间的推移而减少。放射科医生可以分享更多信息。牛奶可以由当地医院核医学科检查以确定辐射何时消失,以便可以用来喂养。 (米切尔,2019。)

局部麻醉诸如牙科手术或小面积皮肤进行的麻木注射,不会以可检测的水平转移到乳汁中,因此在使用时无需以任何方式中断母乳喂养。 (里斯-斯特雷姆坦,2017。)
全身麻醉不需要断奶或中断母乳喂养。一旦患者从全身麻醉中完全苏醒,就可以安全地进行护理或泵奶,因为全身麻醉药物会迅速代谢。无需“泵送和倾倒”牛奶。 (里斯-斯特雷姆坦,2017。)

断奶以进行诊断或组织切除手术:护理哺乳期母亲的医疗团队需要将哺乳期护理纳入患者护理计划中。在诊断或组织切除手术之前,患者需要立即进行护理或吸乳,以排空乳房并提高舒适度。如果手术时间较长,则需要在手术期间计划好挤奶。挤奶也应该安排在术后病房内。很少需要断奶。 (反导 临床方案 #35:在孕产妇或儿童住院期间支持母乳喂养)

经验表明,断奶并不能帮助母亲“保存体力”。母乳喂养比奶瓶喂养更加方便、轻松、省时。它提供了一种情感联系和亲密感,在母亲和婴儿最需要的时候为他们提供滋养。

参考

安德森,PO (2016)。癌症化疗。母乳喂养医学,11, 164-165

Bartick, Melissa, MD, MS, Hernandez-Aguilar, Maria Teresa, MD, MPH, Ph.D, Wight, Nancy, MD, Mitchell Katrina B., MD, Simon, Lillana, MD, Hanley, Lauren, MD, Meltzer-Brody, Samantha,医学博士、公共卫生硕士和劳伦斯,Robert M.,医学博士;和母乳喂养医学会、ABM Clinical 方案 #35:在孕产妇或儿童住院期间支持母乳喂养。母乳喂养医学。 2021;16(9)。

Buescher E. 母乳的抗炎特性:如何、为什么、在哪里。高级实验医学生物学。 2001;501:207-22。

David F. 乳腺癌初次放射治疗后的哺乳期。国际放射肿瘤生物学杂志。 1985 年 7 月;11(7):1425。

Dilsizian V、Metter D、Palestro C 等人。 同位素医疗用途咨询委员会 (ACMUI) 哺乳母亲放射性物质医疗管理指南小组委员会。最终报告提交日期:2019 年 1 月 31 日。

Eglash, A.、Johnson, H.、Mitchell, K. 和母乳喂养医学学会, 哺乳期妇女的乳房肿块、乳房主诉和诊断性乳房成像,ABM 临床方案 #30。 2019.

Escobar P、Baynes D、Crowe J。导管镜辅助显微颌骨切除术。国际 J 费尔蒂尔。 2004;49(5):222-4。

FitzJohn T、Williams D、Laker M、Owen J。哺乳期静脉尿路造影。 Br J Radiol。 1982;55(656):603-5。

Grunwald, F, Palmedo, H., Biersack H. 哺乳期乳房的单侧碘 131 摄取。核医学杂志。 1995;36(9):1724-1725。

Hale T. 药物和母乳。德克萨斯州阿马里洛:Hale Publishing,2019。

Hale T,Berens P。母乳喂养患者的临床治疗,第三版。德克萨斯州阿马里洛:Hale Publishing,2010。

Helewa M、Levesque P、Provencher D、Lea R、Rosolowich V、Shapiro H。乳腺癌、妊娠和母乳喂养。 J ObstetGynaecol Can。 2002 年 2 月;24(2):164-80。

Higgins S,Haffty B。早期乳腺癌保乳治疗后的妊娠和哺乳。癌症。 1994 年 4 月 15 日; 73(8):2175-80。

Johnson, H. 和 Mitchell, K,《乳瘘是合理的担忧还是毫无根据的恐惧?估计发生率的队列研究,J Am Coll Surg,科学论坛摘要,卷。 229,4S1号,2019年10月

Johnson, H.、Mitchell, K 和母乳喂养医学学会 (ABM) 临床方案 #34,乳腺癌和母乳喂养, 2020.

Kubik-Huch R, Gottstein-Aalame N, Frenzel T, Seifert B, Puchert E, Wittek S, Debatin J. 哺乳期钆喷酸葡胺排泄到人乳中。放射学。 2000 年 8 月;216(2):555-8。

Linkeviciute,A,Notarangelo M,Buonomo,B.,Bellettini,G.,Peccatori,F。
乳腺癌后母乳喂养:可行性、安全性和伦理观点
人类哺乳期杂志 2020 年,卷。 36(1) 40 –4。

Mitchell, K.、Fleming, M. Anderson, P、Giesbrandt, J. 和母乳喂养医学会,ABM 临床方案 #31,哺乳期妇女的放射学和核医学研究,2019 年。(提供英语、德语和韩语版本)

Moran M、Colasanto J、Haffty B、Wilson L、Lund M、Higgins S。保乳治疗对怀孕后哺乳的影响。癌症杂志,2005;11(5):399-403。

Neifert M. 乳房手术或乳腺癌后的母乳喂养。 NAACOGS ClinIssu Perinat 女性健康护士。 1992;3(4):673-82。

Nielsen S、Matheson I、Rasmussen J、Skinnemoe K、Andrew E、Hafsahl G。人类母乳中碘海醇和甲曲唑的排泄。放射学报。 1987;28(5):523-6。

Pezzi C、Kukora J、Audet I、Herbert S、Horvick D、Richter M。使用乳头乳晕切除术治疗中央型乳腺癌的保乳手术。拱门外科。 2004 年 1 月;139(1):32-7。

Pistilli, B.、Bellettini, G. Giovanetti, E. 等人。 (2013)。化疗、靶向药物、止吐药和母乳中的生长因子:我们应该如何为癌症患者提供有关母乳喂养的建议?癌症治疗评论,39(3), 207-211。

Reece-Stremtan,S、Campos,M.、Kokajko,L. 和母乳喂养医学学会 (ABM) 临床方案 #15,母乳喂养母亲的镇痛和麻醉,2017 年修订。

Robinson P、Barke、P、Campbell A、Henson P、Surveyor I、Young P。甲状腺癌治疗后母乳中的 Iodine-131。核医学杂志。 1994;35(11):1797-1801。

Rofsky N、Weinreb J、Litt A。母乳中分泌的钆喷酸葡胺的定量分析。 J MagnReson Imaging 1993 年 1 月至 2 月;3(1):131-2。

Sickles E,Abele J。微小良性乳腺囊肿内的钙乳。放射学。 1981;141(3):655-8。

Spigset O. 麻醉剂和母乳中的排泄。 ActaAnaesthesiol Scand。 1994 年 2 月;38(2):94-103。

Tralins A. 保守性乳房手术联合放射治疗后的哺乳期。我是《临床肿瘤杂志》。 1995 年 2 月;18(1):40-3。

Uematsu T、Kasai M、Yuen S。微钙化簇:与其他女性相比,乳腺癌风险较高的女性。乳腺癌。 2009;16(4):307-14。

West D, Hirsch E. 乳房和乳头手术后的母乳喂养:医疗保健专业人员指南。德克萨斯州阿马里洛:Hale 出版社,2008 年。

2022 年 2 月修订

Cancer: Diagnostic Tests, Therapeutic Procedures and Treatment while Breastfeeding

DIANA WEST, BA, IBCLC, updated by Ann Calandro, MSN, RN, IBCLC

Originally published December 2011, updated November 2015, updated February 2022 and republished with the permission of the author, Diana West.

The technical information in this paper has been compiled in consultation with physicians having professional knowledge and clinical experience with cancer and breastfeeding. See the list of references at the end of the article for sources to share and explore with your healthcare providers.

When seeking answers regarding the safety of continued breastfeeding when a nursing parent needs a radiopharmaceutical, the parent and attending radiologist will need to engage in shared decision making. Patients can ask that medications be chosen that are most compatible with breastfeeding. Although most common imaging and nuclear medicine procedures performed during breastfeeding do not require interruption of breastfeeding or weaning, there are some exceptions.

Parents may wish to refer their treating physician to the 2019 Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine Protocol #31 Radiology and Nuclear Medicine Studies in Lactating Women. Dr. Thomas Hale’s Medications and Mother’s Milk 2019 is another helpful resource for physicians. Additional information about medication is available on Lactmed, as well as E-lactancia, a free resource in English and Spanish.

The Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine has published guidelines for mothers who have been diagnosed with cancer during pregnancy or postpartum. These guidelines offer more detailed information on breastfeeding and cancer for parents and providers (ABM Protocol #34 Breast Cancer and Breastfeeding).

Answers to some of the most common questions asked when facing the possibility or reality of cancer while breastfeeding:

Cancer in the Lactating Breast

Breastfeeding from a breast with cancer – There is no research to indicate that baby can “catch” cancer from nursing on an affected breast. “There is no evidence that breastfeeding increases the risk of breast cancer recurring or of a second breast cancer developing, nor that it carries any health risk for the child.” (Helewa et al., 2002)

There is no scientific evidence that infants refuse to feed from a cancerous breast, although this has been reported anecdotally by some breastfeeding patients.

Microcalcifications are tiny calcium deposits in breast tissue that that can be benign (non-cancerous) or suspicious for atypical cells or cancer. They occur more frequently in women who have breastfed, particularly for extended periods. It is not possible to feel these microcalcifications, so they are identified on screening or diagnostic mammograms. Even distributions are normal and usually not an indication of cancer. However, it is important to have all breast concerns checked out by a medical professional and biopsies performed, if recommended.

“The majority of persistent breast masses warrant diagnostic imaging. Although several breast masses may occur in the setting of lactation and are benign, imaging generally
is required to distinguish these from non-lactation-specific breast masses. Both benign and malignant masses unrelated to lactation also may present during the postpartum period.” (ABM Clinical Protocol #30 Breast Masses, Breast Complaints, and Diagnostic Breast imaging in the Lactating Woman.)

Imaging techniques used for diagnosis of breast pathology may include ultrasound, mammogram, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), positron emission tomography (PET) scan, 2-Methoxy Isobutyl Isonitrile (MIBI) scan, electrical impedance tomography (EIT) scan, computer axial tomography (CAT) scan, thermography, or diaphanography. These techniques are non-invasive and usually do not affect milk production or safety. The Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine mentions that ultrasound is often the first diagnostic test used to determine the nature of a mass in a lactating breast. It may be more difficult to interpret breast tissue results due to the increased density from lactation, but it is not impossible. Feeding or pumping before the imaging is recommended, to improve the quality and sensitivity of the scan. It is usually not necessary to interrupt or suspend breastfeeding for these procedures with the exception of the PET scan, which requires separation of the breastfeeding dyad for 12 hours, though the milk itself is safe. As always, it is important for the prescribing physician and radiologist to consult reliable updated sources before the imaging.

Needle aspiration to remove the contents of fluid-filled cavities and galactoceles does not affect milk production or safety. Continued feeding or pumping is recommended to reduce the occurrence of a milk fistula.

Patients may have undergone a breast biopsy prior to pregnancy and breastfeeding to remove tissue for diagnostic analysis. Biopsies can damage lactation ducts or nerves depending on the technique, amount of tissue removed, and location of the incision. There are three ways to obtain a sample of breast tissue – fine needle aspiration cytology, core biopsy and open surgical biopsy. The most commonly performed is a core biopsy, either freehand, under ultrasound or mammography guidance. Local anesthetic is injected into the biopsy site prior to making an incision to insert the biopsy needle. It is safe to feed or pump milk with local anesthetic in the breast.

While lactating, incisions in the upper, inner quadrants of the breast usually impact milk-making tissue the least, while circular incisions around the areola can damage nerve response affecting milk ejection. Incisions pointing toward the nipple sever fewer milk ducts and do less damage. Scars or infections from a biopsy also may harm the milk-making tissue. Some surgeons may be reluctant to perform biopsies on a lactating breast because it can be more difficult to see the affected tissue, but it can be done, and the milk will not delay wound healing.

Surgeons often quote concerns of milk fistula as a reason to delay biopsy or surgery until after weaning. With continued lactation support to feed or pump in the biopsied breast, the chance of milk fistula is low. (Johnson and Mitchell, 2019)

Breastfeeding may continue normally after the procedure. There is a risk that a milk-filled cyst (galactocele) could develop, but it can be left untreated, or treated with needle drainage (aspiration). If infection occurs, it can be treated with antibiotics that are safe during breastfeeding.

Radiation from diagnostic procedures using x-rays, mammograms, MRI, and CT(also called CAT) scans are all safe during lactation. Most radiopaque and radiocontrast agents typically used in CT/CAT, MRI, MIBI scan, or PET scan diagnostic tests are extremely inert and virtually unabsorbed when taken orally. Some are given through IVs and may pass into the milk. However, infant absorption is not a concern. The Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine states that ultrasound is the initial imaging modality used for diagnosing breast imaging of areas of concern. It is not necessary to interrupt breastfeeding when they are used. However, because there are many different contrast agents, it is always important that current reliable sources be checked before undergoing the diagnostic procedure and to verify that no interruption is needed.

Radioactive isotopes: According to ABM Clinical Protocol #31, when physicians advise a breastfeeding patient, consideration must be given to the fact that the child may be exposed to radiation through two routes – the ingested milk and externally through proximity to the mother. Lactating mothers should expect their physicians to share evidence-based information on the safety of the recommended radioisotope.

Radiation therapy is destructive to milk-making tissue, and mothers should not expect the radiated breast to be able to produce milk after this therapy. Although some milk may be produced from the affected breast during therapy, individual advice should be taken whether to breastfeed from that breast. This is because the nipple and areola tissue may have reduced sensitivity and be more prone to trauma, bleeding, and therefore infection. The same is true for the use of a Supplemental Nursing System on the irradiated side, and the negative pressure of an infant suckling can be quite strong.

Milk production in the breast that did not receive radiation will not be affected and it is safe to breastfeed from the non-affected breast during and after therapy.

Breastfeeding during chemotherapy is usually absolutely contraindicated because the medications used to eradicate cancer are highly toxic and transfer into milk. However, some mothers receiving lower dose chemotherapy, or chemotherapeutics with relatively shorter half lives (ABM protocol #34, Table 1) may be able to temporarily wean, or express milk and return to breastfeeding between doses after seeking guidance from medical professionals. Breastfeeding may be possible after chemotherapy has been completed, either by relactation or as a result of another pregnancy, depending upon the drugs that were used (Pistilli, 2013)

Nursing mothers who are scheduled for chemotherapy should discuss the duration of breastfeeding and timing of weaning with their oncologist. Some may decide to pump and plan to return to breastfeeding after completion of their course of treatment. They may find, however, that their babies may lose interest in breastfeeding after not being offered the breast over a period of time.

The risk of breast cancer recurrence is not increased by breastfeeding. (Helewa et al., 2002)

Cancer in Other Parts of the Body and the Effects on Lactation

Thyroid imaging and treatment– I-131 is a treatment modality for destruction of the thyroid for thyroid cancer and for Graves Disease. It is not for imaging. It necessitates complete weaning four weeks before treatment begins to reduce radiation dose to the breast. I-123 is used for a thyroid update and diagnostic scan. It is rarely necessary to use I-123 during lactation. However, if it is required, it may require cessation of breastfeeding for several days. (ABM Clinical Protocol #31.)

When lactation needs to be temporarily ceased due to radioisotopes for diagnostic purposes, it is possible to pump after treatment until it is safe to resume breastfeeding. The expressed milk can be stored in a freezer away from others, allowing the radiation count to diminish over time. The radiologist can share further information. The milk can be checked by a local hospital nuclear medicine department to determine when the radiation has disappeared so that it can be used for feeding. (Mitchell, 2019.)

Local anesthesia, such as numbing injections done for dental procedures or small areas of skin, does not transfer into milk in detectable levels, so it is not necessary to interrupt breastfeeding in any way when it is used. (Reece-Stremtan, 2017.)
General anesthesia does not require weaning or the interruption of breastfeeding. As soon as the patient awakens fully from general anesthesia, it is safe to nurse or pump because general anesthetic medications are rapidly metabolized. There is no need to “pump and dump” milk. (Reece-Stremtan,2017.)

Weaning for diagnostic or tissue-removal surgery: The healthcare team caring for the lactating mother needs to include lactation care in the plan of care for the patient. The patient will need to nurse or pump immediately prior to the diagnostic or tissue-removal surgery to drain the breasts and promote comfort. If it is a long surgery, milk expression needs to be planned during surgery. Milk expression should be arranged in the post-operative unit, as well. Weaning is rarely necessary. (ABM Clinical Protocol #35: Supporting Breastfeeding During Maternal or Child Hospitalization)

Experience has shown that weaning will not help a mother “conserve her strength.” Breastfeeding is considerably more convenient, relaxing, and timesaving than bottle-feeding. It provides an emotional connection and intimacy that is nurturing to both mother and baby when they need it most.

References

Anderson, P.O. (2016). Cancer chemotherapy. Breastfeeding Medicine, 11, 164-165

Bartick, Melissa, MD, MS, Hernandez-Aguilar, Maria Teresa, MD, MPH, PhD, Wight, Nancy, MD, Mitchell Katrina B., MD, Simon, Lillana, MD, Hanley, Lauren, MD, Meltzer-Brody, Samantha, MD, MPH, and Lawrence, Robert M., MD; and the Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine, ABM Clinical Protocol #35: Supporting Breastfeeding During Maternal or Child Hospitalization. Breastfeeding Medicine. 2021;16(9).

Buescher E. Anti-inflammatory characteristics of human milk: how, why, where. Adv Exp Med Biol. 2001;501:207-22.

David F. Lactation following primary radiation therapy for carcinoma of the breast. Int J RadiatOncolBiol Phys. 1985 Jul;11(7):1425.

Dilsizian V, Metter D, Palestro C, et al. Advisory Committee on Medical Uses of Isotopes (ACMUI) Sub-Committee on Nursing Mother Guidelines for the Medical Administration of Radioactive Material. Final report submitted: January 31, 2019.

Eglash, A., Johnson, H., Mitchell, K. and the Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine, Breast Masses, Breast Complaints, and Diagnostic Breast imaging in the Lactating Woman, ABM Clinical Protocol #30. 2019.

Escobar P, Baynes D, Crowe J. Ductosopy-assisted microdochectomy. Int J Fertil. 2004;49(5):222-4.

FitzJohn T, Williams D, Laker M, Owen J. Intravenous urography during lactation. Br J Radiol. 1982;55(656):603-5.

Grunwald, F, Palmedo, H., Biersack H. Unilateral iodine-131 uptake in the lactating breast. J Nucl Med. 1995;36(9):1724-1725.

Hale T. Medications and Mothers’ Milk. Amarillo, TX: Hale Publishing, 2019.

Hale T, Berens P. Clinical Therapy in Breastfeeding Patients, 3rd ed. Amarillo, TX:Hale Publishing, 2010.

Helewa M, Levesque P, Provencher D, Lea R, Rosolowich V, Shapiro H. Breast cancer, pregnancy, and breastfeeding. J ObstetGynaecol Can. 2002 Feb;24(2):164-80.

Higgins S, Haffty B. Pregnancy and lactation after breast-conserving therapy for early stage breast cancer. Cancer. 1994 Apr 15; 73(8):2175- 80.

Johnson, H. and Mitchell, K, Is Milk Fistula a Legitimate Concern or an Unfounded Fear? A Cohort Study to Estimate Incidence, J Am Coll Surg, Scientific Forum Abstracts, Vol. 229, No. 4S1, October 2019

Johnson, H., Mitchell, K, and the Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine, ABM Clinical Protocol #34, Breast Cancer and Breastfeeding, 2020.

Kubik-Huch R, Gottstein-Aalame N, Frenzel T, Seifert B, Puchert E, Wittek S, Debatin J. Gadopentetatedimeglumine excretion into human breast milk during lactation. Radiology. 2000 Aug;216(2):555-8.

Linkeviciute,A, Notarangelo M,Buonomo,B.,Bellettini,G.,Peccatori,F.
Breastfeeding After Breast Cancer: Feasibility, Safety, and Ethical Perspectives
Journal of Human Lactation 2020, Vol. 36(1) 40 –4.

Mitchell, K., Fleming, M. Anderson, P, Giesbrandt, J. & the Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine, ABM Clinical Protocol #31, Radiology and Nuclear Medicine Studies in Lactating Women, 2019.  (available in English, German and Korean)

Moran M, Colasanto J, Haffty B, Wilson L, Lund M, Higgins S. Effects of breast-conserving therapy on lactation after pregnancy. Cancer J. 2005;11(5):399-403.

Neifert M. Breastfeeding after breast surgical procedure or breast cancer. NAACOGS ClinIssu Perinat Womens Health Nurs. 1992;3(4):673-82.

Nielsen S, Matheson I, Rasmussen J, Skinnemoe K, Andrew E, Hafsahl G. Excretion of iohexol and metrizoate in human breastmilk. ActaRadiol. 1987;28(5):523-6.

Pezzi C, Kukora J, Audet I, Herbert S, Horvick D, Richter M. Breast conservation surgery using nipple-areolar resection for central breast cancers. Arch Surg. 2004 Jan;139(1):32-7.

Pistilli, B., Bellettini, G. Giovanetti, E., et al. (2013). Chemotherapy, targeted agents, antiemetics and growth-factors in human milk: How should we counsel cancer patients about breastfeeding? Cancer Treatment Reviews, 39(3), 207-211.

Reece-Stremtan,S, Campos,M.,, Kokajko,L.and The Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine, ABM Clinical Protocol #15, Analgesia and Anesthesia for the Breastfeeding Mother, Revised 2017.

Robinson P, Barke, P, Campbell A, Henson P, Surveyor I, Young P. Iodine-131 in breast milk following therapy for thyroid carcinoma. J Nucl Med. 1994;35(11):1797-1801.

Rofsky N, Weinreb J, Litt A. Quantitative analysis of gadopentetatedimeglumine excreted in breast milk. J MagnReson Imaging 1993 Jan-Feb;3(1):131-2.

Sickles E, Abele J. Milk of calcium within tiny benign breast cysts. Radiology. 1981;141(3):655-8.

Spigset O. Anaesthetic agents and excretion in breast milk. ActaAnaesthesiol Scand. 1994 Feb;38(2):94-103.

Tralins A. Lactation after conservative breast surgery combined with radiation therapy. Am J Clin Oncol. 1995 Feb;18(1):40-3.

Uematsu T, Kasai M, Yuen S. A cluster of microcalcifications: women with high risk for breast cancer versus other women. Breast Cancer. 2009;16(4):307-14.

West D, Hirsch E. Breastfeeding after Breast and Nipple Procedures: A Guide for Healthcare Professionals. Amarillo, TX:Hale Publishing, 2008.

Revised February 2022

You can print to paper or to a PDF file.

For best printing results, open the llli.org site in Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge. Although you can view the site well in any browser, printing from other browsers might not operate correctly.

1. Browse to the web document that you want to print.

2. Click the Print button that is displayed on the web page (not the Print command on the browser menu or toolbar).
This opens the browser print window. The window displays a preview of the document that will be printed. The preview might take a minute to display, depending on the document size.

3. In the Printer box, select the desired printer.
For example, if you are working on a Windows computer, and you want to print to a PDF file, select Save as PDF.

4. As required, configure the other options such as the pages to print.

5. Click the Print button.
If you are generating a PDF, click Save. You are prompted for the name and folder location to save the file.