Photo of a mother pumping milk, she is smiling at the camera,  behind her baby is standing and also looking at the camera.

有时,母亲和其他哺乳父母会因为工作或上学而与孩子分开。重要的是要知道,当您不在时,您仍然可以为孩子提供牛奶,并且可以维持母乳喂养关系。

当我回到工作岗位或学校(大学)时,我需要多久吸奶一次?

您与宝宝分开的时间长短会影响这个决定。理想情况下,您吸奶的次数与宝宝吃奶的次数一样多。这对于您的工作/学校时间表来说可能是不可能的。大多数妈妈发现每 2-3 小时吸奶一次可以维持母乳供应,并且不会导致她们感到不舒服的饱腹感。

例如,如果您每天工作 8 小时,您会在上班前给孩子喂奶,然后在上午、午餐时间和下午进行吸奶。当你回到家时,你就会给你的宝宝喂奶。

我应该单泵还是双泵?

使用可以同时从两个乳房吸奶的吸奶器可以节省大部分时间。吸乳两个乳房可能需要大约 15 分钟,而不是单独吸乳每个乳房需要 30 分钟或更长时间。双侧吸乳还可以提供非常强烈的刺激,以保持良好的乳汁供应。催乳素是产生乳汁的重要激素,当母亲进行双侧吸奶时,催乳素会变得非常升高。

有什么方法可以减少工作时吸奶的次数吗?

如果您可以在午餐时回家,或者在您与宝宝休息时有人接您,您可以母乳喂养而不是吸奶器。一些雇主设有现场托儿服务,这可以让您与宝宝一起休息。

有些婴儿形成了一种称为“逆循环母乳喂养”的模式。 (盖尔·普赖尔 / 哺乳期妈妈、职业妈妈)。这意味着您不在时宝宝会睡得更多,而您在一起时宝宝会吃更多母乳。如果发生这种情况,您可能会发现,当您离开宝宝时,您需要的吸奶量会减少。晚上让宝宝靠近您,以便您可以轻松哺乳并获得尽可能多的睡眠。

如何选择吸奶器?

您需要的吸奶器类型很大程度上取决于您的情况。您的泵送能力取决于您的具体需求与满足这些需求的最佳泵送系统的匹配。

如果您因要返回工作或学校而确实需要离开宝宝,则需要一个好的吸奶器。有很多选项可供选择。选择一款能够满足您的特定需求的产品非常重要。需要考虑的一些因素包括成本、效率、运输的难易程度以及产生的噪音。

如果您只需要偶尔吸奶,手动吸奶器可能是合适的选择。它们体积小,易于携带和使用,而且价格也不是很贵(例如在美国它们的价格可能为 $20-50)。不再推荐的一种泵是“自行车喇叭”式手动泵。这款吸奶器效果不佳,很多妈妈都觉得使用起来不舒服。

如果您每天只离开几个小时,并且只需要吸奶一两次,那么小型电动吸奶器可能比较合适。在美国,这些产品的成本约为 $50 至 $150。有些是双侧吸乳方式,另一些则是一次吸一个乳房。其中有些相当安静,但有些则相当吵闹。这些可以插入墙壁或使用电池。有些配有交流适配器。

如果您要离开 8 小时或更长时间,双电动吸奶器可能是最佳选择。如果您吸奶的时间有限和/或您每天吸奶 3 次或以上,则建议您使用这些产品。这些泵是自动的,并且具有模仿婴儿哺乳模式的吸吮释放周期。它们可能相当大,并装在类似于大手提包的手提箱中。这些箱子可容纳所需的所有配件。他们通常很安静。它们在美国的价格在 $200 – 300 之间,被制造商归类为单用户泵。

最后一个选择是医院级泵,也称为多用户泵 (USFDA)。这是一个非常强大的吸奶器,当母亲和婴儿分开时使用,例如在医院为早产儿吸奶,或者母亲需要强烈刺激以增加母乳供应量。这些很少有人购买。大多数母亲从医院或耐用医疗设备公司租用它们。

许多父母发现与朋友讨论是否需要吸奶器以及如果需要的话哪种吸奶器最有效,这会很有帮助。请务必询问哪些功能效果良好,哪些功能效果不佳。

我的朋友不再需要她的泵并说我可以使用它。这个可以吗?

重要的是要知道大多数吸奶器都被视为单人用户。牛奶可能会倒流到泵机构中并造成污染。因此,不建议共享或借用单用户泵。

吸奶技巧

远离宝宝时吸奶可能会很棘手。找到时间和空间去做这件事,以及在做的时候放松一下,说起来容易做起来难。

其他成功泵送的人是很好的资源,可以提供许多建议,使整个过程变得更容易。以下是其中一些建议:

* 找一个安静的地方,这样你就不会被打扰。在休假之前,您可能需要环顾一下您的工作区域,以找到最佳地点。它不必很花哨,但应该是私密的。卫生间不是一个可以被要求吸奶的地方。请注意,某些国家/地区制定了法律来保护您。

*放松很重要。许多哺乳期的父母会看婴儿的照片、听音乐、喝水或吃零食。有些人用手机观看婴儿的视频或与婴儿和护理人员面对面交流。

*一些妈妈发现在使用吸乳器之前先用手挤奶 1-2 分钟效果更好。手的温暖和“皮肤接触”首先提供良好的刺激,使乳汁更好地释放。

* 保持水分。多喝水,以免过度口渴。如果您可以吃零食并好好休息一下,这也会很有帮助。

*购买一款免提吸乳文胸。市场上有几种,或者您可以自己制作。如果您自己制作,只需使用运动胸罩并在凸缘穿过的地方切孔即可。您可以使用胶带密封边缘,以免磨损。

*投资一台好的泵。从长远来看,它会比配方奶粉便宜,而且对您来说会更舒服。大多数制造商都有各种尺寸的法兰。确保法兰不要太紧,也不要太松。

法律

英国

ACAS 为雇主制作了一份全面的指南 在工作场所适应母乳喂养.
http://www.acas.org.uk/media/pdf/2/i/Acas-guide-on-accommodating-breastfeeding-in-the-workplace.pdf
LLLGB 还提供有关工作中吸奶的有用信息:
https://www.laleche.org.uk/working-and-breastfeeding/

美国
美国制定了联邦法律来保护您在吸奶时的安全:
https://www.dol.gov/whd/regs/compliance/whdfs73.htm
情况说明书 #73:《FLSA》规定的哺乳期母亲的休息时间
本情况说明书提供了有关《患者保护和平价医疗法案》(“PPACA”) 中哺乳期母亲休息时间要求的一般信息,该法案于 2010 年 3 月 23 日签署成为法律 (PL 111-148) 后生效。

清洁和消毒泵配件
用手挤奶
用奶瓶喂养母乳

Pumping Milk

There are times when mothers are separated from their child for work or for school. It is important to know that you can still provide milk for your child when you are away and you can maintain your breastfeeding relationship.

How often will I have to pump when I go back to work or school (college)?

How long you are apart from you baby influences this decision. Ideally, you would pump as often as your baby would nurse. This may not be possible with your work/ school schedule. Most mothers find that pumping every 2-3 hours maintains their milk supply and does not cause them to become uncomfortably full.

For example, if a mother worked an 8 hour work day, she would nurse her child before coming to work, then pump mid-morning, at lunchtime and then mid-afternoon. She would nurse her baby when she returned home.

Should I single or double pump?

Using a pump that can express milk from both breasts at the same time will save the most time. It may take about 15 minutes to pump both breasts instead of 30 minutes or more to pump each breast separately. Double pumping also provides very strong stimulation to keep a good milk supply. Prolactin, which is an important hormone for making milk, becomes very elevated when mothers double pump.

Is there any way to decrease the number of times I have to pump at work?

If it is possible for you to go home at lunch, or have someone meet you on your break with your baby, you can breastfeed instead of pump. Some employers have onsite child care and this could allow you to take your breaks with your baby.

Some babies develop a pattern known as “reverse cycle breastfeeding.” (Gale Pryor / Nursing Mother, Working Mother). This means that your baby will sleep more while you away and breastfeed more when you are together. If this happens, you may find you need to pump less when you are away from your baby. Keep your baby near you at night, so that you may nurse easily and get as much sleep as possible.

How Do I Choose a Breast Pump?

They type of breast pump you need depends very much on your situation.  Your ability to pump well will depend on matching your specific needs to the best pumping system that meets those needs.

If you do need to leave your baby because you are returning to work or school, a good pump will be needed. There are many options to choose from. It is important to choose one that will meet your specific needs. Some things to consider are cost, efficiency, how easy it is to transport and how much noise it makes.

If you only need to pump occasionally, a hand operated pump may be the right one. They are small, easy to carry and use and are not very expensive (for example they may cost $20-50 in the US). One pump that is no longer recommended is the “bicycle horn” style manual pump.  This pump did not work well and many mothers found it to be uncomfortable to use.

If you will only be away a few hours a day and only need to pump once or twice, a small electric pump may be appropriate. The cost of these range from about $50 to $150 in the US. Some are double pumping styles, others will pump one breast at a time. Some of them are fairly quiet, but some are rather noisy. These can be plugged into the wall or use batteries. Some have AC adapters.

If you will be away for 8 or more hours, a double electric pump is likely the best choice. These are recommended if the time you have to pump is limited and/or you will be pumping 3 or more times per day. These pumps are automatic and they have a suck release cycle that mimics the pattern of a baby nursing. They can be fairly large, and come in carrying cases that resemble a large handbag. These cases hold all of the accessories needed. They are usually quiet. They cost between $200 – 300 in the US and are classified as single user pumps by the manufacturers.

The last option is the hospital grade pump, also called the multi user pump (USFDA). This is a very strong pump and is used when mother and baby are separated, such as pumping milk for a premature baby in the hospital, or if mother needs strong stimulation to increase her milk supply. These are rarely purchased. Most mothers rent them from a hospital or from a Durable Medical Equipment Company.

Many mothers find it helpful to talk with their friends about whether or not a pump is needed, and if so, what kind worked best. Be sure to ask what features worked well and what didn’t.

My friend no longer needs her pump and said I can use it. Is this okay?

It is important to know that most breast pumps are considered single user. Milk can flow backwards into the pump mechanism and cause contamination. For this reason, sharing or borrowing single user pumps is not recommended.

Pumping Tips

Pumping while away from your baby can be tricky.  Finding the time and space to do it, as well as relaxing while you do it can be easier said than done.

Mothers who have successfully pumped are a great resource and can provide many suggestions to make the process easier. Here are some of those suggestions:

* Find a quiet place where you are not likely to be interrupted. You may want to look around your work area before you go out on leave to find the best place. It does not have to be fancy, but it should be private. The restroom is not an acceptable place to be asked to pump. Be aware that there are laws in place in some countries to protect you.

*Relaxing is important. Many mothers look at pictures of their babies, listen to music, drink water or have a snack.  Some use their phones to watch videos of their babies or face time the baby and caregiver.

*Some mothers find that hand expressing for 1-2 minutes before using the pump gives them better results. The warmth of their hands and “Skin on skin” first provides good stimulation so that their milk is released better.

* Stay hydrated. Drink plenty of fluids so that you do not become overly thirsty. If you can snack as well as get a good meal break, this is helpful as well.

*Invest in a hands free pumping bra. There are several on the market or you can make your own. If you make your own, simply use a sports bra and cut holes where the flanges will go through. You can use duct tape to seal the edges so they don’t fray.

*Invest in a good pump. It will be cheaper than formula in the long run and it will be more comfortable for you. Most manufacturer’s have various sizes of flanges. Be sure your flange is not too tight, nor too loose.

The law

UK

ACAS have produced a comprehensive guide for employers on Accommodating Breastfeeding in the Workplace.
http://www.acas.org.uk/media/pdf/2/i/Acas-guide-on-accommodating-breastfeeding-in-the-workplace.pdf
LLLGB also have useful information on pumping at work:
https://www.laleche.org.uk/working-and-breastfeeding/

USA
There are federal laws in place in the United States to protect you when pumping:
https://www.dol.gov/whd/regs/compliance/whdfs73.htm
Fact Sheet #73: Break Time for Nursing Mothers under the FLSA
This fact sheet provides general information on the break time requirement for nursing mothers in the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (“PPACA”), which took effect when the PPACA was signed into law on March 23, 2010 (P.L. 111-148).

Cleaning and Sanitizing Pumping Accessories
Hand Expressing
Feeding Breastmilk From a Bottle

Check out LLLI’s
current Webinar!

WHEN BREAST ISN’T BEST: CHALLENGES AND OPPORTUNITIES FOR SEXUAL ABUSE SURVIVORS IN BREASTFEEDING

Any breastfeeding advocates who deal with new families must have a working knowledge of sexual abuse as well as a trauma-informed approach in order to effectively support breastfeeding families.

Learn how abuse can impact ability and desire to breastfeed, red flags that could indicate a history of sexual abuse and practical tools to support all families in a thoughtful way.

Register here: https://www.llli.org/webinar-registration-when-breast-isnt-best/