我的新生儿出生时有特殊需要。我还能母乳喂养吗?

首先,祝贺您特别的新宝宝的诞生。其次,祝贺您选择母乳喂养您的新生儿。您想把您的牛奶作为礼物送给您的宝宝,这真是太好了。有特殊需要的婴儿从母乳喂养中获得的好处超出了普通新生儿的许多优点。现在,您可能正在与矛盾的感觉作斗争。像大多数父母一样,您对见到新宝宝感到高兴和兴奋。同时,你可能会感到失望、愤怒、无助,甚至内疚。给自己一些时间来处理这些悲伤的感觉,记住您的宝宝首先是一个婴儿,其次才是一个有特殊需要的婴儿。

出生时患有唐氏综合症、唇裂或腭裂、心脏问题、囊性纤维化、神经损伤或其他特殊需要的婴儿比其他婴儿更能从母乳中受益。母乳可以增强宝宝的免疫系统,并且更容易消化。它提供完美的营养,让您的宝宝尽可能保持健康,并在他们可能需要的任何手术或治疗中保持强壮。产生的特殊纽带和母乳喂养激素将有助于让您保持平静并与宝宝有更多联系。

通常,有特殊需要的婴儿不愿意接受母乳;您和宝宝在哺乳期间需要额外的支持。让您的医疗团队知道您决心母乳喂养。您的伴侣、其他家庭成员和朋友、您的哺乳顾问和您的 LLL领导者 可以为你提供支持。如果您想给宝宝喂奶,请尝试立即母乳喂养。要有耐心,宝宝可能需要几周的时间才能学会如何正确衔乳。如果这不起作用,请在出生后尽快开始吸奶。您应该像婴儿母乳喂养一样频繁地吸奶,在 24 小时内每两到三个小时吸奶一次;设置闹钟将有助于您按计划行事。泵出的奶可以通过其他喂养方式给予。如果可能的话,最好避免使用奶瓶和奶嘴,因为吮吸乳房与吮吸奶瓶不同,有助于避免乳头混淆。

向您的 Leader 或委员会认证的哺乳顾问咨询有关母乳喂养的信息 护理辅助系统。这些系统将您的母乳装在一个小瓶子或袋子中,并附有一根细管,以便将母乳输送给您的宝宝。该管子可能会粘在您的乳房上,这样您的宝宝在学习母乳喂养时可以获得额外的乳汁。或者您可以将管子粘在手指上,让宝宝吮吸您的手指来吸奶。 (您的手指比奶嘴更类似于您的乳头。)一些医疗保健提供者可能不熟悉这种方法。告诉他们为什么这对您和您的宝宝很重要。如果可能的话,继续尝试母乳喂养。研究证明,母乳喂养对婴儿的压力比奶瓶喂养小,但您的医疗保健团队可能不知道这一点。此外,母乳喂养中的拥抱和肌肤接触提供了宝宝充分发展其能力所需的刺激。

通常,您的医生会要求您为生长缓慢的婴儿补充营养。看看您的医生是否同意您使用自己挤出的母乳 – 您可以 或者 手工快递 如果宝宝不能有效吸吮,请用其他喂养方法喂奶。

在某些情况下,有特殊需要的宝宝可能不会纯母乳喂养,但这没关系。请放心,您通过母乳、泵吸和吸出的任何数量的乳汁 通过瓶子给予,或通过其他方式(SNS、注射器、勺子、G型管、哈伯曼喂食器)提供将极大有利于宝宝的健康和发育。 这是你一个人就能提供的东西,这对你的士气有好处!

母乳喂养患有唐氏综合症的宝宝:

母乳喂养患有唐氏综合症的宝宝的好处:

  • 母乳可以提供额外的保护,防止感染和肠道问题,这在患有唐氏综合症的婴儿中更为常见。
  • 母乳喂养期间的重复动作可以刺激宝宝的嘴唇、舌头和面部肌肉;为言语发展奠定基础。它还将改善口腔和舌头的协调性,为您的孩子带来真正的发展优势。
  • 母乳喂养可以促进妈妈和宝宝之间的亲密关系,建立一种特殊的联系。这尤其有助于缓解与唐氏综合症诊断相关的悲伤过程。
  • 母乳比配方奶更容易消化,如果您的宝宝患有唐氏综合症婴儿常见的消化问题,母乳会有所帮助。
母乳喂养患有唐氏综合症的宝宝的提示:

母乳喂养患有唐氏综合症的婴儿时,额外的耐心和合理的期望至关重要。肌张力低、伸舌和吸吮无力会影响婴儿的母乳喂养能力。

  • 患有唐氏综合症的婴儿通常更加困倦和平静。为了确保您的宝宝获得所需的营养并建立乳汁供应,可能需要每两个小时叫醒她一次,以便频繁喂奶(每天至少 8-12 次)。确保您的宝宝在喂奶前完全清醒,您可以在整个喂奶过程中通过额外的触摸和刺激来做到这一点。此外,调暗房间内的灯光有助于让宝宝睁开眼睛,或者您可以尝试脱掉宝宝的衣服并进行皮肤接触,以保持宝宝的警觉和意识。
  • 如果您的宝宝在乳房上睡着了,换位哺乳会非常有益。如果您的宝宝开始对乳房失去兴趣,请松开衔乳并提供另一个乳房。不断重复,直到他看起来满意为止。
  • 要特别注意将宝宝放在您的乳房上。尽量让宝宝的身体靠近您的身体,下巴和胸部与乳房齐平,耳朵、肩膀和臀部在一条直线上,并使用额外的枕头提供支撑。看 定位 了解更多信息。
  • 如果出现吞咽和窒息的问题,请尝试调整宝宝的位置,使他的头部高于臀部。足球和悠闲的位置会有所帮助。看 定位 了解更多信息。
  • 肌张力差可能会导致宝宝难以顺利衔乳,包括舌头和嘴唇的肌肉力量减弱。在母乳喂养期间提供良好的头部支撑非常重要。您可以采用多种方式抱宝宝来支撑他的头部、颈部和背部。舞者手的位置对于肌张力较低的婴儿特别有益。将您的手臂放在您要提供的乳房对面。用与所献乳房同侧的手,用拇指放在乳房的一侧,手掌在下方,食指朝外,其他三个手指放在乳房的另一侧,托住乳房。哺乳时用食指支撑宝宝的下颌。随着宝宝的肌张力通过母乳喂养而改善并变得成熟,他将能够更有效地支持自己和母乳喂养
  • 患有唐氏综合症的婴儿可能会伸出舌头,挤压您的乳头。这可能会给宝宝衔乳带来挑战,因为他可能会将乳头推出嘴外。
  • 如果您的宝宝衔乳正确,您应该能够看到他的舌头在乳房下方呈杯状,搁在下牙龈上。当您将宝宝衔在乳房上时,请注意观察他的嘴是否张开,舌头向前和向下。为了鼓励宝宝将舌头向前伸出:当宝宝衔乳时,用食指轻轻压住宝宝的下巴。下巴张开会使舌头进一步伸出嘴外。如果您的宝宝在衔乳时需要一些初步鼓励以保持舌头向下,请不要灰心。您可以尝试以下一项练习来促进拔罐舌头; 1) 将食指放在宝宝舌头的中央,鼓励舌头形成一个槽的形状。 2) 向下推他的舌头,同时逐渐将手指从他的嘴里拉出来。 3) 在将宝宝衔在乳房上之前,重复此练习几次。

寻找您附近的 LLL 领导者或团体
用奶瓶喂养母乳
泵送
用手挤奶
与您孩子的医生合作
2018 年 1 月发布,2020 年 10 月修订。

Special Needs

My new baby was born with special needs. Can I still breastfeed?

First, congratulations on the birth of your new special baby. Second, congratulations on making the choice to breast feed your new baby. How wonderful that you want to give your baby the gift of your milk. Babies with special needs experience special benefits from breastfeeding beyond the many advantages to typical newborns. Right now, you are probably struggling with conflicting feelings. Like most parents, you are joyful and excited to meet your new baby. At the same time, you may have feelings of disappointment, anger, helplessness, even guilt. Allow yourself time to process these feelings of grief, remember that your baby is a baby first and a baby with special needs second.

Babies born with Down syndrome, cleft lip or palate, cardiac problems, cystic fibrosis, a neurological impairment or other special needs will benefit from human milk even more than other babies. Human milk will boost your baby’s immune system, and is more easily digestible. It offers the perfect nutrition to keep your baby as healthy as possible, and be strong for any surgeries or treatments they may need. The special bond and breastfeeding hormones produced will help to keep you calmer and more in touch with your baby as well.

Often a baby with special needs is reluctant to take the breast; you and baby will need extra kinds of support while nursing. Let your medical team know that you are determined to breastfeed. Your partner, other family members and friends, your lactation consultant and your LLL Leader can back you up. If you want to give your milk to your baby, try to breastfeed right away. Be prepared to be patient, it may take a few weeks for your baby to learn how to properly latch on. If this isn’t working, start pumping as soon as possible after birth. You should pump as often as a baby would breastfeed, every two to three hours during each 24-hour period; setting an alarm will help keep you on schedule.  The pumped milk can be given by other feeding methods. It’s best to avoid bottles and pacifiers if possible, because suckling at the breast is different than sucking on a bottle and will help to avoid nipple confusion.

Ask your Leader or board-certified lactation consultant about getting an at-breast nursing supplementer system. These systems hold your milk in a small bottle or bag with a thin tube attached to carry the milk to your baby. The tube may be taped to your breast, so your baby can get extra milk while learning to breastfeed. Or you may tape the tube to a finger and let the baby suck on your finger to get milk. (Your finger is more similar to your nipple than a bottle nipple.) Some health care providers may be unfamiliar with this method. Tell them about why it is important to you and your baby. Keep trying to breastfeed, if at all possible. It’s been proven by research that breastfeeding is less stressful for babies than bottle feeding, but your health care team may not know this. Also, the cuddling and skin-to-skin contact involved in breastfeeding provides the stimulation your baby needs to fully develop his capabilities.

Oftentimes your doctor will want you to supplement a slow-gaining baby. See if your doctor will agree to have you use your own expressed breast milk or your hind milk. Hind milk is the milk in your breast at the end of a feeding, which has a higher fat/calorie content. To obtain hind milk you can express and give this by another feeding method if the baby is not sucking effectively.

In some cases, your baby with special needs may not become exclusively breastfed, and that’s okay. Rest assured that any amount of your milk received, by breast, pumped and given by bottle, or provided by another method (SNS, syringe, spoon, g-tube, Habermann Feeder) will greatly benefit your baby’s health and development. It’s something you alone can provide, which is good for your morale!

Breastfeeding your baby with Down syndrome:

Benefits to breastfeeding your baby with Down syndrome:

  • Breast milk provides extra protection against infections and bowel problems, which are more common in babies with Down syndrome.
  • The repetitive action during breastfeeding provides stimulation to strengthen your baby’s lips, tongue, and facial muscles; creating a building block for speech development. It will also improve mouth and tongue coordination giving your child a real developmental advantage.
  • Breastfeeding promotes closeness between mom and baby, creating a special bond. This will especially help in the grieving process that can be associated with a Down syndrome diagnosis.
  • Human milk is more easily digestible than formula and can help if your baby has digestive issues which is common in babies born with Down syndrome.
Tips to breastfeeding your baby with Down syndrome:

Extra patience and reasonable expectations are critical when breastfeeding a baby with Down syndrome. Low muscle tone, tongue thrusts, and a weak suck can affect the baby’s ability to breastfeed.

  • Babies born with Down syndrome are often more sleepy and placid. To make sure your baby gets the nutrients that she needs and establish your milk supply, it may be necessary to wake her every two hours for frequent feedings (at least 8-12 times per day). Make sure your baby is fully awake before feeding, you can do this with extra touch and stimulation throughout the feeding session. Also dimming the lights in the room helps to keep your baby’s eyes open, or you can try undressing your baby and using skin to skin contact to keep your baby alert and aware.
  • Switch nursing is very beneficial if your baby falls asleep at the breast. If your baby starts to lose interest in the breast, break the latch and offer the other breast. Keep repeating until he seems satisfied.
  • Pay extra attention to positioning your baby at your breast. Try to keep your baby’s body close to your body with chin and chest at breast level with his ear, shoulder and hip in a straight line and use extra pillows for support. See Positioning for more information.
  • If gulping and choking are a problem, try positioning your baby so that his head is higher than his bottom. The football and laid-back position can be helpful. See Positioning for more information.
  • Poor muscle tone may make it difficult for your baby to latch on well, including reduced muscle strength in their tongue and lips. It is very important to offer good head support during breast feeding. There are a variety of ways you can hold your baby to support his head, neck, and back. The Dancer hand position is especially beneficial to babies with low muscle tone. Hold your arm opposite the breast you’ll be offering. Using the hand on the same side as the breast you are offering, cup your breast with your thumb on one side of the breast, palm beneath, index finger pointing outward, and the other three fingers on the other side of the breast. Use your index finger to support your baby’s lower jaw while nursing. As your baby’s muscle tone improves through breastfeeding and maturity, he will become able to support himself and breastfeed more effectively
  • Babies with Down syndrome may have a protruding tongue that can push against your nipple. This may pose a challenge for your baby when latching on, as he may push the nipple out of his mouth.
  • If your baby is latched on properly, you should be able to see his tongue cupped under the breast, resting on his lower gum. When you are latching your baby onto the breast, watch for his mouth to open wide, with his tongue forward and down. To encourage your baby to bring his tongue forward: use your index finger to press down softly on the baby’s chin while he latches on. This opening of the jaw will cause the tongue to protrude further out of his mouth. Don’t be disheartened if your baby needs some initial encouragement to keep his tongue down while latching on. Here is an exercise you can try to promote cupping of the tongue; 1) Place your index finger on the center of your baby’s tongue, encouraging the tongue to form the shape of a trough. 2) Push down on his tongue while gradually pulling your finger out of his mouth. 3) Repeat this exercise several times before latching your baby onto the breast.